FAQs

touch sun

How far can a player travel (run on) once touched?

The Roll Ball must take place on the mark where the first 'Touch' was made.

If a player is in motion when touched, they are allowed to complete their step if the foot is in the air. In this case, the ball must be placed in between the legs and rolled back, not in front of, their feet and stepped over.

If the player cannot, they must return to the point of the touch and can be guided by the Match Official.

Failure to return to the point of touch will result in a penalty tap restart to the non-offending team as the Roll Ball has been performed from the incorrect place.

If a team concedes a try can they pick up the ball and run back to the middle and restart the game straight away?

No. The Match Official will control the restart and the tap restart must be performed correctly - ball on the ground, rolled, then picked up.

If a player is touched on the try line can they move back to stop defenders diving round to perform another touch?

Yes. They may move back a maximum of five metres from the tryline.

When can the defenders move forward?

If they are back the correct distance (10 metres at a penalty restart or 5 metres at a Roll Ball), they can move forward when the ball is tapped at a penalty, or when the Roll Ball is performed.

What is the decision if a player is touched at the same time as grounding the ball for a try?

If a player places the ball on the ground at the same time a touch is effected, the touch counts and a try is not awarded.

Can a player perform a Rollball then turn around and pick up the ball?

No, players cannot perform the Rollball to themselves the outcome would be Rollball performed incorrectly and play restarts with a penalty tap to non-offending team.

An attacking player attempting to score places the ball short of the try line how is play restarted?

If a player places the ball on the ground and releases it short of the try line, while attempting to score a Try, a Touch is counted and the player is required to perform a Rollball to restart play at the position of contact with the ground.

An attacking player attempting to score places the ball short of the try line how is play restarted?

If a player places the ball on the ground and releases it short of the try line, while attempting to score a Try, a Touch is counted and the player is required to perform a Rollball to restart play at the position of contact with the ground.

If the attacking player receives the ball, hitting him / her in the chest and it travels forward without touching either the floor or a defending player, then regains possession through the defensive line and continues onto score a try, what happens?

A try is awarded. If the attacker was in free space whilst juggling the ball, its play on. If whilst juggling the ball, a defender makes the touch, the touch is counted and a rollball occurs (unless it's 6th touch)